Gluten Free Delicious Waffles! From scratch.

Waffles are delicious and I miss them. I miss baked goods in general. So I decided to learn how to do gluten free baking myself. This was my first experiment baking from scratch rather than using a store bought mix. I purchased Carol Fenster’s “1,000 Gluten-free Recipes” after much research on the web. I compare this book to being the gluten free equivalent of “The Joy of Cooking.” It’s an all purpose cook book covering everything including appetizers, meat, seafood, soup, veggies, sandwiches, bread, and deserts. I was a little worried that I might not like her taste in recipes as I’ve had some not so great gluten free baked goods (think dry and flavorless). Also, I like rich flavor, and a lot of spice so I am often disappointed by recipes tailored for the typical American palate. but my first experiment was a huge (although time consuming) success. It was time consuming since it was from scratch and I hadn’t mixed her base flour mix called “Carol’s Sorghum Blend” already. This is a flour mix that she uses in almost all recipes that call for flour. Recipe is below.

Carol’s sorghum blend

Makes 4 cups

  • 1 1/2 cups sorghum flour
  • 1 1/2 cups potato starch/cornstarch
  • 1 cup tapioca flour

Whisk ingredients together until well blended. Store tightly covered, in a dark, dry place. You may refrigerate or freeze the blend, but bring to room temperature.

(1,000 Gluten Free Recipes, by Carol Fenster, PhD, pg x)

I started out following her instructions to whisk the flour before I spooned it into a cup and leveled it with a a knife. Apparently, if you don’t follow the same technique the recipe maker used to measure or if you pack the flour it can change the measurements by up to 20% more flour and significantly alter a recipe. So I was diligent. What I wasn’t diligent about was making sure I had all the correct flours… Oops. So I didn’t have any tapioca flour. I could have sworn I did. Thankfully, there is almost always a viable substitute. I found a substitute at Buzzle.com of 1 part cornstarch per 2 parts tapioca flour. It worked out splendidly.

After making the flour mix I moved on to the recipe.

Spiced Applesauce Waffles

Makes 8 waffles (4 inches each) – WARNING: for those of us that have normal human sized appetites, you know, like 1 traditional sized waffle each, double or triple this recipe to feed 3 people.

  • 2 large eggs, room temperature, separated
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter or buttery spread, such as Earth Balance, melted, or canola oil.
  • 1 container (4 oz) unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup Carol’s Sorghum Blend
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice or apple pie spice (or used 1 tsp ground cinnamon, plus 1/4 tsp nutmeg or allspice.
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • Topping of your choice, such as warmed applesauce, syrup, or honey.

(1,000 Gluten Free Recipes, by Carol Fenster, PhD, pg 9)

I started by whisking the egg yolks, butter, applesauce, vinegar, and vanilla until smooth. Unfortunately, I missed the part about the Earth Balance needing to be melted. Although it was a little chunky at first, it turned out just fine thanks to my wonderful electric mixer.

Then I sifted together the sorghum blend, sugar, baking powder, spices (Not having the fancy baking spice mixes, I used cinnamon and nutmeg), baking soda, salt and xanthan gum, and then whisked those into the liquid ingredients until the batter was smooth.

In a separate bowl, I used my electric mixer to whip the egg whites until they formed stiff peaks (about 2 minutes) and folded half of that into the batter, and then folded the remainder in.

Gluten Free Spiced Applesauce Waffles

Voila! Waffle mix! Rather thick waffle mix. I don’t know if this was due to the flour mix substitution or because I didn’t melt the butter. Either way, it didn’t pour, but required scooping onto the griddle. I used 1/3 of a cup for the first waffle and ended up with a teeny tiny waffle. It was cute. So I doubled that and got a normal sized waffle. Unfortunately, there were 3 of us and only 2 smaller waffles could be procured from the remaining batter, so next time I will double the recipe. Either way, it was delicious! The waffles were fluffy, slightly sweet, at had a really moist, good flavor. The fluffiness was likely because I may not have cooked them long enough, but I’m ok with that. We topped them with heated blueberries and savored every bite. I can’t wait to try the rest of her recipes.

 

About Heather

I am passionate about good food, environmental sustainability, and living life to its fullest. I am a recent graduate of the Program on the Environment at UW in Seattle. During winter quarter my senior year I traveled to Auroville, India, and Thailand to do my senior project and also for fun. This blog is serving as a way to document my experiences with travel, the outdoors, and growing things. Additionally, I love cooking and am just getting into gluten free baking so I will share my kitchen experiments with you as well!
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten Free Delicious Waffles! From scratch.

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Diet - Try Out These Great Gluten Free Diet Recipes | Healthy Diet Report

Leave a Reply

